Company Logo
Internet Explorer

Sorry! Your browser is not supported.

To view this site you can download a newer version of Internet Explorer.



JSANZ Speech Contest Winners

2018 JSANZ Tertiary Japanese Language Speech Contest Winners.

We are delighted to announce the winners of the 2018 JSANZ Tertiary Japanese Language Speech Contest.

First place: Jee Hyun Cho (University of Auckland)

Second place: Gabrielle Gibb-Faumuina (University of Canterbury)

Third equal place: Vincent Nicoll-van Leeuwen (Ara Institute of Canterbury)

                            Vanessa Tubman (Massey University)

We would like to congratulate all of the participants. The judges were impressed with the quality of their speeches and had great difficulty selecting the winners. Well done! All of the participants will receive a certificate and summarised comments from the judges.

This year’s national champion Jee Hyun Cho will receive return air tickets to Japan. A huge thank you to Japanese Chamber of Commerce of Auckland INC ‘Nisui-Kai’ for supporting our event as the major sponsor. Jee’s winning speech video clip will be released soon through JSANZ Facebook and JSANZ website.

Gabrielle Gibb-Faumuina, Vincent Nicoll-van Leeuwen and Vanessa Tubman will receive Prezzy cards, sponsored by the Sasakawa Fellowship Fund for Japanese Language Education, New Zealand Association of Japanese Language Teachers and the Japan Foundation, who will also contribute to the cost of travel for students to the prize giving.

We hope the participants continue their Japanese learning journeys and wish them all the best for their future.


Sponsors  With the support of the Embassy of Japan

Contact us today

Please fill out all the required fields.